Cranberry Orange White Chocolate Cookies

Here’s the thing that I’m finding difficult about food blogging: sometimes I have no idea what to say. I can only think of so many ways to say something is delicious, and not everything I make has a charming anecdote to accompany it. And I don’t really want to make you wade through pages of some childhood story of mine that relates somewhat tangentially to whatever recipe I’m about to post.

But.

I do like those childhood stories. And I like those anecdotes. Trimmed down, without frills. It’s just that those stories aren’t always available.

I used to keep a personal blog (well, I guess I still do, technically, but I update it about once every four months, so…) in which I would post about whatever was on my mind. Often it was just uninteresting verbal diarrhea, but occasionally I’d get lucky and I’d write a lovely little story or a snarky-funny rant. Sometimes I can write well.

But I do wonder how I managed to have anything to post about on a regular basis, because these days, I don’t really want to blurt out too much. It’s not that my life is void of interestingness (or other made-up words); it’s that I feel more guarded about what I share on the internet. You never know when someone won’t pick up on your sarcasm. So, like, talking about the swinger parties T and I go to is out of the question. And you’re probably not all the interested in hearing about the town gossip I relished at the latest quilting bee.

See? Jokes. Jokes, people. Not that I judge. But quilting is not for me.

I suppose I’m still trying to find my voice on this blog. Maybe I never will. It’s a blog about food, and cooking, and my enduring allegiance to butter and sugar and fattening sweet treats.

So, I will continue to try to find my voice, and in the meantime I will leave you with these crammed-full-of-stuff cranberry orange white chocolate cookies. I don’t have much to say about them except that I made them at Christmastime, they don’t have eggs or granulated sugar, and they taste like Froot Loops. I think they are best eaten warm, the day you make them.

Ingredients:

1 cup salted butter
1 cup sifted powdered sugar
1/4 tsp. baking soda
2 tsp. orange zest
1/3 cup orange juice
2 tsp. vanilla
1 1/2 cups flour
1 cup rolled oats
1 cup white chocolate chips
1 cup chopped pecans
1 cup dried cranberries, snipped

Preheat oven to 375 F. In a mixing bowl, cream together butter and powdered sugar until light and smooth. Add powdered sugar and baking soda; beat until combined. Stir in orange zest, orange juice, and vanilla. Beat in as much flour as you can, then stir in the remaining flour and the rolled oats. Add the white chocolate, pecans, and cranberries.

Drop by teaspoons onto a cookie sheet lined with parchment paper. Bake for about 10 minutes, or until the edges of the cookies are just lightly browned. Cool for one minute on the cookie sheet, then transfer to wire rack to finish cooling.

Makes about 42.

Note: The texture of these cookies was very light and almost shortbread-like. I think these could be interesting without the fruit and orange – if I make them again, I’ll try substituting milk for the o.j., omitting the zest, and replacing the cranberries with chocolate chips.

2 responses to “Cranberry Orange White Chocolate Cookies

  1. Hi Jill,

    You should check out http://www.honeyandjam.com. It might be, you know, all inspiring and whatnot. It’s all about baking and photography. The blogger is 19, seems really sweet and is talented. She also has a list of blogs that inspire her, so you might find something there, too, to get those creative juices percolating.

  2. Here you are! I waa wondering what had become of Jill the Blogger!
    I like your stories and your ramblings, for what it’s worth.
    But seriously, these recipes are off.the.hook!!
    How are you and Your hubby not 390 pounds each? Everything looks totally mouth watering.
    Sadly, I don’t think I can ever show Andrew this blog. I don’t want him to think this is what wives do. You know, cook all gourmet and stuff. It took me 3 years to finally make a decent roux. 🙂

Leave a Reply

