Glazed Lemon Ricotta Cookies

Source: Annie’s Eats

I love cookies. I just completely adore them. They’re fun to make, the dough is delicious, and they travel to work with me far better than a piece of cake.

When it comes to cookies, though, I’m pretty much a sucker for traditional. My favorite of all time is a chewy chocolate chip cookie, preferably with milk-chocolate chips, especially preferably warm from the oven.

But during my November/December cookie baking frenzy, I made it a point to reach out beyond the traditional and find recipes that I might otherwise ignore. I’m a fan of lemon and all, but if I had encountered these cookies on any other given day, I might have said “meh” and moved along.

I’m really glad I didn’t. Because these lemon goodies are light, fluffy pillows of cake, all citrusy-sweet. There’s ricotta cheese in the batter, which might strike you as…different. But don’t let it deter you — don’t! — because I think the ricotta contributes greatly to the magnificent soft texture of the cookies. If you like big, soft sugar cookies, these lemon treats are for you.

Ingredients:

For the cookies:
2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1 tsp. baking powder
1 tsp. salt
1/2 cup unsalted butter, softened
2 cups sugar
2 eggs
1 (15 oz.) container ricotta cheese (part-skim is fine)
3 T. fresh lemon juice
zest of one lemon

For the glaze:

1 1/2 cups powdered sugar
3 T. lemon juice
zest of one lemon

Preheat the oven to 375 F. Line two baking sheets with parchment paper.

In a medium bowl, sift together the flour, baking powder, and salt. Set aside. Using an electric mixer (or sheer arm strength), beat together the butter and sugar until light and fluffy. Add the eggs one at a time, mixing well after each addition. Add the ricotta, lemon juice, and zest, and mix well. Add the dry ingredients and mix on low speed until just combined.

Scoop heaping tablespoonfuls of the (really very quite tasty) dough onto the lined baking sheets. Bake for 15 minutes, or until the cookies are just getting golden at the edges. Remove from oven and let the cookies rest on the baking sheets for 20 minutes. Then transfer to a wire rack to cool completely.

While the cookies are cooling, make the glaze: Sift the powdered sugar into a small bowl, then stir in lemon juice and zest. Whisk until smooth. Spoon a little bit of glaze onto each cookie, smoothing and spreading the glaze with the back of the spoon. Let the cookies sit (if you can) to allow the glaze to harden, which will take about 2 hours. Store in an airtight container at room temp.

One response to “Glazed Lemon Ricotta Cookies

  1. What fun! I’ve never made a cookie with ricotta in the batter. I’ll bet they were delicious.

Leave a Reply

