Cranapplepear Crisp

Serves 4
Adapted from Simply in Season

Okay, okay, I know I recently said I want to post more recipes than only dessert, but I have a lot of desserts I’ve already made that are waiting for posting. And I think they deserve to see the light of day. Like this fruit crisp, which is wintry and warm and refreshing and sharp all at once.

For some reason, I recently bought two bags of cranberries when I was at the market. I’m pretty sure it’s because I was completely taken with the “use one, freeze another!” marketing. I’m a little susceptible to marketing in general, really. But anyway, I ended up with all these cranberries in my freezer, which isn’t too much of a problem, since apparently you can freeze cranberries for a whole freakin’ year.

Anyhoo, I wanted to find a good use for cranberries, since I couldn’t justify making another serious dessert such as this. My Simply in Season cookbook had a recipe for cranberry-apple crisp, but I had a proliferation of pears and only one apple. So I cut the recipe in half and just messed with it until I had the proper ratio of fruit.

The result was really good, guys! It’s a pretty traditional fruit crisp, but less butter makes it lighter, and the oats and fruit add a hearty helping of fiber. And we all know how important fiber is. Sweet from the pears and apples and tart from the cranberries (which almost taste like cherries), this is excellent paired with vanilla ice cream.

Ingredients:

1 firm-ripe pear, sliced
1 apple (I used fuji), peeled and sliced
1 cup fresh or frozen whole cranberries
1/4 cup plus 4 T. brown sugar, divided use
1/4 cup plus 2 T. flour
1/2 cup rolled oats
1/2 tsp. cinnamon
2 T. unsalted butter

Preheat oven to 350.

Grease a 9×5-inch loaf pan. Toss pear slices, apple slices, and cranberries together in pan. Sprinkle with 2 T. brown sugar. Set aside while you prepare the topping.

In a small bowl, stir together remaining brown sugar (1/4 cup plus 2 tablespoons), flour, oats, cinnamon. Cut butter into mixture using either a pastry blender or your fingertips, until the mixture is grainy.The bits of butter should be about the size of peas, with some smaller and larger flakes.

Bake for 45 minutes or until the fruit is soft and the topping is crisp. Serve warm with ice cream or frozen yogurt.

2 responses to “Cranapplepear Crisp

  1. This is very good. Jane came to dinner last night and I used this recipe. It was easy and satisfying, perfect with Haagen Dazs, a tarty balance. The texture was pleasant as well. Yum!

    • Yay! I’m so glad you made it and liked it. It’s definitely an easy and not-too-rich dessert. And speaking of easy, I’ve made your lemon bread twice in the last couple of weeks — look for it to make an appearance on here sometime soon.

Leave a Reply

