Chewy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

From Smart Cookie
Makes: 4 dozen smallish cookies

Are you looking for the consummate chewy oatmeal cookie? Look no further, friends, because I gotcher recipe right here.

First, a little meander into my opinion on raisins:

I am not a fan. Particularly not a fan of standard dark brown raisins. They taste like the smell of a tobacco field. (Full disclosure: I might have OD’d on raisins as a snack when I was in high school. That might be why I hate them.) But golden raisins? They are good. The flavor is much more mild, in my opinion, and they’re moist and plump. Not dry and withered and weird.

So when I used golden raisins in this oatmeal cookie recipe, I expected them to be pretty tasty in their reliable, chewy way. I did not expect them to turn into soft, honeyed nuggets of bliss. I’m sure the result is because of this bizarre method: you soak the raisins for an hour. In eggs. I had never even heard of doing such a thing, but apparently it allows the raisins to remain soft and plump instead of getting dried out and hard while they bake. I dunno about the science, but I can tell you the result was excellent.

For those of you may not like chewy cookies, well, these will not be your cup of tea. They are seriously chewy. Bordering-on-bubble-gum chewy. I think that’s a good thing. You’ll just have to make them for yourself to see what you think.

Ingredients:

3 large eggs
1 generous tsp. vanilla extract
1 cup golden raisins
2 sticks butter, softened
1 cup brown sugar
1 cup granulated sugar
2 & 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1 tsp. salt
2 tsp. baking soda
1 generous tsp. cinnamon
2 cups quick cooking oats
1 cup toasted pecans, chopped*

In a large bowl, whisk the eggs and vanilla together. Stir in the raisins. Let this mixture sit for an hour. (I started preparing the rest of the ingredients after about 40 minutes, so by the time I needed the eggs and raisins, they had been sitting for an hour.)

Beat the butter and the sugars together until light and fluffy. In another bowl whisk together the flour, salt, baking soda and cinnamon. Gradually add dry ingredients to the butter and sugars. The dough will seem dry. Stir in the egg-raisin-vanilla mixture, then stir in the oats and toasted walnuts.

Drop by tablespoons onto parchment-lined cookie sheets. Bake for 10 – 13 minutes in a 350-degree oven, until the cookies are very golden brown. Let them cool for one minute on the tray, and then transfer cookies to wire rack.

*To toast the pecans, spread unchopped pecans in a single layer on a rimmed baking sheet. Toast in 350-degree oven for 5 – 10 minutes, or until slightly darkened and fragrant. Shake pan occasionally. Watch carefully; they scorch easily. Cool, then chop with a knife.

Leave a Reply

