Nibby Buckwheat Cookies

So, one word to describe these little suckers: disappointing.

Yeah. They tasted like plants.

I kept returning to them to taste little bites again, to see if they had improved. But they hadn’t. Not even two days later, when apparently they’re supposed to get better with age, and they keep for one remarkable month. Nope. They never got good.

You might wonder why I would bother blogging about something that didn’t delight my taste buds, so I’ll tell you why: cacao nibs are not cheap, and I want to save you from wasting your money like I did.

Actually, I’m not sure I should blame the nibs. Maybe it was the buckwheat. I have no idea what buckwheat is supposed to taste like. So, if it’s supposed to taste the way a gardening center smells, then I guess there’s nothing to blame for the unappealingness of these cookies. But Terwilliger grew up on buckwheat pancakes, and he didn’t like these cookies either, so… I dunno.

I had bookmarked these cookies ages ago, and on my recent cookie-baking binge, I decided to give them a shot. I mean, what good is having a food blog if I can’t buy expensive specialty ingredients I would usually ignore? The cookies looked tasty, and the recipe seemed slightly wholesome, what with the use of the buckwheat flour. And they sure smelled good while baking. They are essentially buckwheat shortbread cookies, with plenty of butter, minimal sugar, and some cacao nibs to give it a little crunchy zing.

They were all those things, but with the flavor of plants.

So I just wanted to warn you.

Here they are…

From Orangette

1 & 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
3/4 cup buckwheat flour
2 sticks unsalted butter, softened
2/3 cup granulated sugar
1/4 tsp. salt
1/3 cup cocoa nibs
1 & 1/2 tsp. vanilla extract

Whisk flours together in a medium bowl. In a mixer, beat the butter with the sugar and salt until smooth and creamy but not fluffy, about 1 minute. Add the nibs and vanilla and mix together, scraping down sides of bowl if needed. Add the flours all at once mix until just incorporated. The mixture will seem dry and coarse at first, but as you keep beating, it will slowly come together. The dough will be very thick and pull away from the sides of the bowl.

Divide the dough in half, and form each half into a log about 2 inches in diameter. Wrap well with plastic wrap and refrigerate for at least two hours. (Overnight is fine, but you’ll need to let the dough rest on the counter for an hour or so before baking in order to slice it without it crumbling.)

When you’re ready to bake, preheat the oven to 350. Slice the cookies into 1/4-inch coins and place them on parchment-lined cookie sheets. Bake for 12 – 14 minutes, or until cookies just begin to color around the edges. Cool on wire racks.

And cool completely before eating. They’re especially plant-like when they’re warm.

Leave a Reply

