Cardamom Cookies

Source: Adapted from Baking Bites
Makes: 4 dozen small cookies

A couple of months ago, I bought some cardamom for a cake. I got home, opened the cardamom to see what it smelled like, then read over the recipe and realized the ingredient I actually needed was coriander. So I kept the cardamom which I had so hastily opened and bought some coriander for the cake. So… what do with the cardamom?

These cookies caught my eye not only because they called for my unused spice to take a starring role, but also because they had relatively few ingredients and looked incredibly easy to whip up.

There’s really not that much to say about them — they’re just simple and really good. Reminiscent of snickerdoodles, they’re not soft, but not crunchy, and they have a gentle hit of spice from the cardamom. If you like Chai tea, you’ll like the flavor of these little goodies. In fact, they’d be an excellent mid-afternoon snack with a cup of tea. They’re sophisticated that way.

Ingredients:

2 1/4 cups flour
1 tsp. cream of tartar
1/2 cup butter, at room temp
3/4 tsp. ground cardamom
1 tsp. baking soda
1/4 tsp. salt
1 cup brown sugar
1 egg
1 tsp. vanilla
Granulated sugar for rolling

Preheat oven to 350. Sift together flour and cream of tartar in a medium bowl.

In a large bowl, cream together butter, cardamom, baking soda and salt. (Yes, it’s an unusual order of adding ingredients, but it works.) Add brown sugar and beat until well combined. Beat in egg and vanilla. Gradually stir in flour mixture.

Shape dough into 1-inch balls and roll in granulated sugar. Place on a baking sheet lined with parchment paper and flatten the cookie slightly with the palm of your hand.

Bake for 10 minutes, until cookies are a light, golden brown. Let them cool on the baking sheet for a few minutes before removing them a wire rack to finish cooling.

6 responses to “Cardamom Cookies

  1. Oh dear god, I love cardamom! And chai tea. I will be making these.

    Also: I’m making the butternut sage orzo sometime this week!

  2. Mmm, I am intrigued. So…they’re like plump little sugar cookies with a dash of spice? I don’t know anything about cardamom.

  3. Steph: Yay, let me know what you think of the butternut orzo!

    Jess: I would say they’re like little sugar cookies with probably four dashes of spice. The first day I ate them, I was a little unsure of what I thought — the strongest association I had was of Chai tea. But by day two, I was hooked. I’m pretty sure I distinctly thought, “Wow, these are really good.”

  4. Pingback: Glazed Lemon Ricotta Cookies « Strawberry Spice

  5. Pingback: Cardamom Cookies – Three Ways | The Sassy Swan

  6. These look perfect! A lot of cardamon cookie recipes are overly complicated or have a TON of butter, even by cookie standards! These are going to be just the ticket for last minute cookie gifting and filling out a Christmas buffet table! Thank you!

Leave a Reply

