No-Bake Peanut Butter Cornflake Cookies

Source: Sticky Gooey Creamy Chewy
Makes: about 4 dozen bite-sized cookies

Are you ready for cookies? I hope you are, because I’m declaring this Cookie Week on my blog.

Why? Because it’s almost December, otherwise known as the Season of Cookies. Plus, I’ve been obsessed with cookies for the last month, trying new recipes every weekend and, um, also during the week. I’ve been baking so many cookies lately that when I had time to bake an apple cake for Thanksgiving, I had to look up the definition of “cake” in the dictionary. No lie.*

See, I’m trying to find the perfect recipe that will win me the “Best in Dough” competition my office holds every December, and I’ve used this as an excuse to try pretty much every cookie recipe that has caught my eye. The competition is next Tuesday, December 8, and I think I know what cookie recipe I’m going to use. You can read along as I post all these cookies I’ve tried and see if you can guess which one is my choice for competitor.

So, let’s talk about these no-bake peanut butter cookies. These are titled “Holy Crap These Are Amazing” Cookies on Susan’s Sticky Gooey Creamy Chewy blog, so of course I had to try them. “Holy crap, these are amazing” is pretty much the reaction I’m looking for from my coworkers.

You’ve probably had the traditional butter, sugar, cocoa, peanut butter, and oats no-bake cookies before — they were one of the first things I learned to make when I was a kid, and they are deliciously simple. These cookies follow that formula, and they are indeed ridiculously easy to make. They are also very good. Crunchy and chewy and very, very peanut buttery. Rich and mellow at the same time. I’ll admit, though, that my first response was not “holy crap, amazing.” It was more “mmmm, yummy.” So if you’re looking for a simple, tasty cookie recipe that’s ready for eating in about 15 minutes, these are for you.

Ingredients:

1 cup sugar
1 cup corn syrup
1 jar (18 oz.) peanut butter
6 cups corn flakes
3 oz chocolate of your choice (I’d recommend milk chocolate — I used bittersweet and it didn’t really do anything for me)

Mix together sugar and corn syrup in a medium saucepan. Place over medium-high heat and stir until mixture comes to a boil. Remove from heat and stir in peanut butter; mix well.

Place corn flakes in a large bowl. Pour the peanut butter mixture over the corn flakes and mix well, making sure to coat all the corn flakes. Scoop out cookies and form into 1-inch balls and place on a cookie sheet lined with parchment or wax paper.

If you’re using chocolate, melt it in a small bowl in the microwave at 15-second intervals, stirring until smooth. Drizzle melted chocolate over cookies. (I put the melted chocolate in a plastic bag and poked a hole in the corner, then drizzled from there.)

*Yeah, actually a lie.

7 responses to “No-Bake Peanut Butter Cornflake Cookies

  1. So wait, what is the point of having a n0-bake cookie recipe that you have to heat stuff up in a saucepan/microwave to make? I guess it’s faster to prepare the cookies overall? I admit, I am clueless about this.

  2. Yeah, no-bake cookies are definitely faster. And if you don’t put the cereal in a separate bowl, like these instructions call for, it’s a one-pot recipe, so you’re dirtying far fewer dishes. You just grab a pan, do some measuring, heating, and stirring, spoon out some cookies, and you’re done. No baking time and waiting for batch after batch to come out of the oven.

  3. So glad you enjoyed the cookies! These are always a big hit at our house.

    • Hi Susan! Here I am, four days later, commenting to say thanks for stopping by my blog. I love your site. Your goodies always look so very delectable!

  4. Pingback: Glazed Lemon Ricotta Cookies « Strawberry Spice

  5. thanks for posting this recipe! I’m making these this weekend for my grandma’s birthday, as I couldn’t find her recipe. Yum yum!

  6. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday – Dec. 6th « The Tumpaks' Blog

Leave a Reply

