Happy Thanksgiving!

Terwilliger and I are heading up to Joshua Tree National Park today for a camping trip with friends. We’ll be heating (not cooking) our Thanksgiving treats over the fire. I roasted my first-ever turkey breast yesterday to take along, and I was surprised by how long it took. I was also reminded that I’m not a fan of handling uncooked meat. But the finished product looks pretty good. I also made apricot-glazed yams and an apple cake. I am much more excited about those two things.

And in the spirit of the holiday, five non-sentimental things I am thankful for:

*my husband’s sense of humor
*living in a warm climate
*lemons & oranges & pomegranates in my backyard
*baked goods
*feather pillows

Have a wonderful Thanksgiving!

2 responses to “Happy Thanksgiving!

  1. Did you make the apple cake in Simply in Season? I’ve made it three times already this Fall to share at various rehearsals and family gatherings. Yum! I’ve also been making a lot of kale. šŸ™‚

    • Hi Lydia! I miss you! I actually made an apple cake from smittenkitchen.com, but now I’m going to look up the Simply in Season apple cake…

Leave a Reply

