Pumpkin Pecan Blondies

Source: Adapted from Baking Bites
Makes: 20 bars

A letter to squash:

Oh, pumpkin, you irresistible minx. You lure me in with your promise of mingling so sweetly with cinnamon, buoyed by brown sugar. And then the health benefits! You are full of vitamin A and fiber! You are a wonderful, delicious squash, and I very much like you. I especially like you when you are paired with butter and sugar in a delectably moist bar cookie that takes all of 15 minutes to whip up and put in the oven. I daresay you are exquisite that way.

Love, Jill

Ingredients:

1/2 cup butter, softened
1/2 cup granulated sugar
1/2 cup brown sugar
1 tsp. ground cinnamon
1/2 tsp. ground ginger
1/4 tsp. salt
1 large egg
1/2 cup pumpkin puree
3/4 cup flour
2/3 cup chopped pecans

Preheat oven to 350. Lightly grease an 8×8 baking pan.

Cream together the butter and sugars until light and fluffy. Beat in spices and salt, then add the egg and the pumpkin puree. Stir in flour until just combined, then add pecans and distribute evenly.

Spread mixture into prepared pan. Bake for 20-25 minutes, until the blondies are lightly browned at the edges and the center is set (it may look moist, but it shouldn’t be sticky when lightly pressed).

Cool in pan, then slice and serve.

One response to “Pumpkin Pecan Blondies

  1. I think I might make this for thanksgiving at my parents house! I was not going to make anything due to turkey and many other goodies in the oven all day, but since this is so quick I bet I could whip it up and quietly sneak it into the oven while everyone is languishing in food coma. 🙂 Yes I think that is my plan.

Leave a Reply

