Cookie Friday: Whole Wheat Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

Source: The back of a whole wheat pastry flour bag
Makes: 3 dozen or more, depending on the size you make them

stacked

Okay, okay. I know what you’re thinking. You’re all “Man, if Jill is turning this blog into a healthful-baked-treats blog, I am so leaving.” At least, that’s what I’d be thinking if I were you. I love me some healthy, whole-grain food, and I generally try to put good things into my digestive system, but we all know that an abiding love for baked goods can never be squelched, and especially not by the (non)temptation of whole wheat.

But, allow me to sing the praises of these strange little cookies. While they’re not going to be mistaken for soft, chewy, toffee-buttery holy-grail chocolate chip cookies any time soon, they have their place in the Pantry of Scrumptious. The oats lend their familiar nutty flavor, and the cookies manage to be both crumbly and chewy at the same the time. They stay quite soft, probably because of the oil in the ingredients, and the real sweet pleasure here is the graham-cracker flavor provided by the whole wheat pastry flour. I’ve talked about the flavor of whole wheat pastry flour before, and it really is quite delicious. I never thought I’d be a baker with a wealth of different types of flour in her kitchen, but I’m fairly converted to whole wheat pastry flour now. I definitely recommend giving it a try yourself!

rows

Besides the fiber factor, there’s another boon to these chocolate chip cookies: the batter isn’t that good. A “boon,” you scoff? I definitely agree that the dough is the absolute best part about making chocolate chip cookies, but sometimes I end up feeling kind of sick, because I seriously have no restraint whatsoever when it comes to eating cookie dough. So having a recipe with dough that *doesn’t* taste like heaven-sent crack is a relief. I mean, sometimes. A girl’s still gotta eat dough, though. Just not every time, is what I’m saying. But I will again soon, I swear. I’m not off dough for life or anything!

Right. Let’s move on, shall we?

bitten

Ingredients:

1/2 C. butter
1/3 C. oil
1 & 1/2 C. sugar
2/3 C. milk
2 tsp. vanilla
2 & 1/2 C. whole wheat pastry flour
1 & 1/4 C. rolled oats
1 tsp. baking powder
1 tsp. baking soda
1/2 C. walnuts
1/2 C. chocolate chips

Notes: The lack of eggs in the ingredients threw me for a loop, but it’s not a typo, and the cookies turn out fine without them. The original recipe calls for margarine instead of butter and soy milk, so if you’re feeling extra earthy-crunchy, you could go the vegan/non-dairy route. I used butter because margarine freaks me out, and regular milk. I also omitted the walnuts and upped the amount of chocolate chips to closer to one cup.

Preheat oven to 350. Grease a cookie sheet and set aside.

In a large bowl, combine the butter, oil, sugar, milk, and vanilla and mix until well-blended. In another bowl, stir together whole wheat flour, rolled oats, baking powder, and baking soda. Stir dry ingredients into wet ingredients, being careful not to overmix. Stir in chocolate chips.

Refrigerate the dough for 20 minutes. (Definitely an important step — the dough will seem a little wet, but refrigerating it will firm it up.)

Drop dough by rounded spoonfuls onto greased cookie sheet. I used heaping teaspoonfuls, because I prefer smaller cookies, but the recipe calls for the standard tablespoon heap.

Bake for 10 – 12 minutes, or until edges are golden. Cool on sheet for one minute, then transfer to cooling racks. These cookies are tender and soft when still warm — they might break apart a bit if you transfer them off the baking sheet too quickly. Just pinch ’em back together.

Leave a Reply

