Citrus-Scented Olive Oil Bundt Cake

Part of my team-cooking adventure…
Source: Enlightened Cakes
Serves: 16

whole cake

When I told a friend of mine that I was making a cake that evening, her face lit up. “What kind?” she asked.

“It’s a citrus-scented olive oil bundt cake,” I said.

Her face fell. “That doesn’t sound good,” she said, cringing.

There’s not much to say in response when someone visibly recoils from your baking adventures, but I assured her that it would be good. I didn’t bring her a piece to try, though.

Her loss, because this cake was superb. It’s not too heavy, not too light, not too sweet, just spiced enough, and really quite sophisticated. The olive oil didn’t have a pronounced flavor, but the whole wheat pastry flour (which you don’t have to use) gave it a wholesome, crumbly texture and well-rounded flavor reminiscent of cornmeal.

slice2

This recipe made a rather huge amount of cake — but I guess that’s kind of the deal with bundt cakes. I think you could halve the recipe and bake it a 9×5 loaf pan instead; that’s probably what I will try next time.

Ingredients:

2 1/2 C. sugar
1 1/2 C. fat-free milk
4 large egg whites
1 large egg
1/2 C. olive oil
2 T. grated lemon zest
3 T. fresh lemon juice
1 1/4 C. all-purpose flour
1 C. whole wheat pastry flour (or all-purpose flour)
1 tsp. baking powder
1 tsp. salt
1/2 tsp. baking soda
1/2 tsp. ground coriander
1/4 C. orange marmalade
2 T. powdered sugar

Preheat oven to 350. Grease and flour 12-cup bundt pan.

In a large bowl whisk the sugar, milk, egg whites, egg, olive oil, lemon zest, and lemon juice until well blended. (I used the whisk attachment on my stand mixer.)

In a medium bowl whisk the dry ingredients together. Whisk into olive oil mixture just until blended.

Pour into prepared bundt pan. Note: the batter will seem very thin and will come up almost to the tippy-top of the pan — don’t be alarmed. It bakes up right nice.

Bake 50 – 55 minutes or until wooden pick inserted in center comes out clean. Transfer cake to cooling rack and cool completely in pan. Remove cake from pan and place on rack. Place orange marmalade in a microwave safe bowl and cover with wax paper. Microwave 1 minute. Stir and spoon hot marmalade carefully over cake. Cool completely. Sprinkle with powdered sugar.

4 responses to “Citrus-Scented Olive Oil Bundt Cake

  1. Mmm! Your cake look scrumptious ! My mouth is watering! I wish more people knew how much better olive oil is for them. I believe they go by their prior taste of vine fruit than they do with the goodness the olive oil brings to dishes and their health.

    I have a question for you, the plate your cake is on, who is it by? As a little girl we had these as dinner plates and I have been searching for them in antique stores to no avail.

  2. Hi! Thanks for your comment. I’m discovering that I love to bake with olive oil and need to find more recipes that incorporate it.

    I am assuming you mean the first, large plate — we inherited those from my husband’s grandmother, so they’ve probably been around for a while. They are by Corelle, I think. (The smaller plate is by Crate & Barrel, in case that’s the one you were asking about.) I’ll bet you can find ’em on eBay…

  3. Pingback: Cookie Friday: Whole Wheat Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies « Strawberry Spice

  4. Pingback: Cooking with Amanda: date one « Strawberry Spice

Leave a Reply

