Chopped Caprese Salad

Part of my team-cooking adventure…
caprese

It’s almost pointless to put up a recipe for this one, because it’s really just chop and mix, and I made it up as I went along. So I want to be obnoxious here and give you some totally vague measurements. I kind of modeled this super-easy salad off of Smitten Kitchen’s pesto-caprese salad, but I nixed the pesto and instead sprinkled the tomato, basil, and mozzarella with salt, pepper, and olive oil. I think this is very much an add-as-much-as-you’re-hungry-for kind of dish.

For preciseness’ sake, to serve two people:

4 plum tomatoes
2 ounces (or more) fresh mozzarella (I can only get the wee little circular kind at my local market (as opposed to a luscious, softball-sized lump), so I took several of those little spheres and cut them into four small pieces each)
a handful of fresh basil
olive oil
sea salt and pepper

Chop up the tomatoes and toss them into a bowl. Then chop up your mozzarella and toss it in too. Add more if it doesn’t seem teeming-with-delicious-cheese enough for you. Slice the basil into thin strips* and add to tomatoes and cheese. Then drizzle a couple of spoonfuls of olive oil over the salad and season with fine sea salt and freshly grated pepper. Toss all together, then serve.

*To easily slice fresh basil, take several leaves and lay them one on top of the other, then roll up like a tiny, awesome, basil-scented cigar. Then slice the rolled-up leaves. Easy peasy.**

**Terwilliger recently told me that “easy peasy” is part of an earworm phrase — I will spare you the other half of the phrase. But of course I have been all “easy peasy!” about everything since then. Because he was right. It is an earworm. I am sorry. Perhaps thinking of the tune “More Than a Feeling” by the inimitable 70s/80s band Boston will help you avoid getting “easy peasy” stuck in your head. Let me know how it goes.

One response to “Chopped Caprese Salad

  1. Pingback: Cooking with Amanda: date one « Strawberry Spice

Leave a Reply

