Gazpacho

Chilled Gazpacho Soup
Source: Simply in Season

cukes

It has been ungodly hot around these parts lately. With a dry, baking desert heat shimmering through my house this weekend, the only thing I could imagine eating was an ice cube. Terwilliger was out of town, so ice for dinner was actually conceivable, but since that’s not particularly nutritious, I made myself a colorful batch of gazpacho with the last of our garden tomatoes. I had quite a lovely time with my own company — I put on some music, cracked open a beer, and then chopped vegetables for a few years.

Now, were I to do this differently, I would have chopped the veggies into big chunks, thrown them all into the blender, and created soup puree. But I followed the recipe, which called for lots of chopped and diced goods. Then the only instructions were “Mix together. Refrigerate for at least 30 minutes to allow flavors to blend.” Seems simple enough, and it did result in a tasty fusion of vegetables. But because of the sheer volume of veggies, I felt more like I was eating a chopped salad than a refreshing chilled soup. So I threw it into the blender and was much happier with the outcome.

The next time you’re so hot that you feel like you are literally being baked from within, give this soup a try, and let me know if you like it chunky or pureed. You know which side I fall on, but either version is invigoratingly good, with the fresh tang of peppers and tomatoes and the soothing chill of cucumbers.

Chop (and chop and chop) some pretty veggies…

onions

Drink while you are doing so…

corona

Mix together…

mixed

Then serve, either chunky…

chunkysoup

…or pureed.

smoothsoup

Ingredients:

4 C. tomatoes, chopped
2 C. vegetable broth
1 C. cucumber, diced (about half a large cucumber)
1 C. green or red pepper, diced (1 large)
1 C. celery, diced (2 large stalks)
1/2 a red onion, diced
2 T. sugar
1 T. lemon juice
1 t. salt
several dashes Worcestershire sauce (to taste)
several drops of Tabasco sauce (to taste, I went light on both this and the Wor-sauce)
6 ice cubes

Mix together. Allow soup to stand for 30 minutes to let the ice cubes chill the soup and for the flavors to mingle.

2 responses to “Gazpacho

  1. I’m with you on the puree. The chunky-style is too much like eating a stew, which is not meant to be done cold.

  2. Oh Jill… must use the food processor. When I decide to make gazpacho it is for the same reasons (in season vegetables and hot summer days), but I would add that it is super quick when you use a processor! Hmm, just the thought is making my mouth water. Although it is not really BBQ type food, maybe I will bring some on Sunday. 🙂

Leave a Reply

