July Daring Bakers: Swiss Swirl Ice Cream Cake

Why hello there. I’m stopping in for my monthly update to bring you an ice cream treat. Not that the San Diego weather this summer necessitates ice cream relief from the heat — it’s been cloudy and cool here for the last million weeks. I am really tired of it. Sunny San Diego, my rear.

Anyway, on to more pleasant things like sugar and cream! The July 2010 Daring Bakers’ challenge was hosted by Sunita of Sunita’s world – life and food. Sunita challenged everyone to make an ice-cream filled Swiss roll that’s then used to make a bombe with hot fudge. Her recipe is based on an ice cream cake recipe from Taste of Home.

Mmmm… mess…

So when I first saw this challenge, I was a little deflated. For one thing, I’m not a huge fan of ice cream desserts. (I really just like ice cream by itself. Or on top of warm pie or cobbler or cake.) And for another, when I hear “swiss rolls,” I think of Ho-Hos, which makes me think of my freshman year of high school, which was pretty much the worst year of my life. So two strikes against this Swiss Roll bombe, through nobody’s fault but my own. But after I checked out the recipe and the procedures, I started to look forward to making it. It looked pretty easy overall, and it involved hot fudge and lots of cream, and those are good things.

So let’s talk about the procedure. There are five different components to this recipe: the swiss rolls (basically a chocolate sponge cake), the roll filling, the chocolate ice cream, the vanilla ice cream, and the hot fudge. While making all of these different things wasn’t especially time consuming, the amount of freezing time and assembly time called for a two-day process. On Saturday, I made the ice creams and the swiss rolls, and on Sunday, I made the filling and the hot fudge. I don’t have an ice-cream maker, so the ice creams required lots of freezing time and they also required me to remember to stir and re-freeze them three to four times, which I’m not sure I managed to do correctly because I went out on Saturday night and totally forgot about the tasty treats waiting for me to attend to them in the freezer.

I am not sure if my ice cream neglect is what caused my chocolate ice cream to be… more like a Frosty from Wendy’s. It tasted amazing, but it never, ever firmed up. The vanilla ice cream did, and it tasted and looked just like regular ice cream. But the chocolate… not so much. Now, I freaking love melty ice cream, so I didn’t have a problem with the results, but it did make for a melty mess when I went to invert the bombe and slice it up.

Let’s see, what else… Okay, so the recipe called for the Swiss rolls to be baked in 11 x 9 pans, which I have never heard of. Have you? Where do I find these magical pans? So I ended up using a rimmed 11 x 15 cookie sheet, and I think that resulted in rather enormous Swiss rolls. Oh well. They still tasted good.

Um, I don’t know what that splotch is on the right. It looks like a cocoa eye.

I mixed it up a little by throwing some mini chocolate chips into the roll filling and adding a layer of strawberries on top of the hot fudge. I thought I was being all clever with the strawberries, but they weren’t such a great idea. They just froze and tasted kind of like chewy, tart ice cubes in the middle of the cake.

Hello, sweet strawberries! You sure did taste good before I foolishly froze you.

One more thing before I send you to the recipe: it seems like everyone else who made this had beautiful end-results. Mine was an eyesore. I don’t really know what I could have done differently to make it prettier (other than not take hurried photos at night in bad lighting), but I urge you to explore the other daring bakers’ results to see what this *should* look like.

“He’s an ugly little spud, isn’t he?”

I’m not recopying the whole recipe here, b/c it’s incredibly long and I’m feeling lazy. I will tell you this: the ingredients are cream. Also, cream. And sugar and cocoa, then more cream. Go here to see the whole recipe!

6 responses to “July Daring Bakers: Swiss Swirl Ice Cream Cake

  1. Love your post! At least the cake tasted good, even if you didn’t like the looks of it. Too bad about the strawberries, they did look pretty next to the hot fudge. Nice job on the challenge!

  2. Good job! You got your rolls to not crack, which is more than I can say.

    I heard a lot of people had problems with the chocolate ice cream not hardening up, so I wouldn’t worry about that.

  3. I have to say, I have seen a few others from this months daring bakers challenge; some looked great and some looked eh. But really, i cant figure out how anyone could make this look good?! It seems like an impossible mission.

  4. Hehehe… ugly spud… I like that name, it’s cute. But hey, it doesn’t matter what the cake looks like, as long as it tastes good. Keep up the great bakes :)

Leave a Reply

