Blueberry Cheesecake Bars

Source: Cookies, Brownies, and Bars
Makes: 48

slices_close2

I’ve gotta be honest about something: I don’t get that excited about cheesecake. If I’m faced with a dessert buffet, it’s is the last thing I’m going to consider. (Though I do love The Cheesecake Factory for its massive, motley menu.) I do love the little muffin cakes with cherry pie topping that my mom makes at Christmastime, but those are practically diet food compared with the richness of a slice of standard cheesecake.

So it follows that I’m not much of a cheesecake baker. But I had some leftover cream cheese from some icing, and I had some graham crackers I needed to get rid of, and blueberries seemed awfully festive at the time (I’ve had this recipe sitting in my drafts folder for about two months), so I whipped up these blueberry cheesecake bars for a party.

They were good.

Enough to make me think that perhaps my reluctance to eat cheesecake is actually more an act of self-preservation than preference. Because if I really let myself love cheesecake, well, let’s just say my pants wouldn’t fit. And I hate shopping for pants.

slices_close

For the crust:
2 & 3/4 C. graham cracker crumbs
2 T. sugar
3/4 tsp. cinnamon
1/2 C. unsalted butter, melted

For the filling:
4 large eggs, at room temp.
1 & 1/2 lbs. cream cheese, at room temp.
1 C. granulated sugar
2 tsp. vanilla
1 tsp. ground cinnamon
3 T. all-purpose flour
1/2 C. sour cream
2 C. blueberries, fresh or frozen

Preheat oven to 325. Press a 20-inch piece of aluminum foil onto the bottom and over the sides of a 13 x 9 baking pan. Butter the foil.

In a bowl, stir together the graham cracker crumbs, sugar, and cinnamon. Add the butter and stir until moistened. Press the crumb mixture over the bottom and 1 inch up the sides of the prepared pan. Bake until slightly darkened, about 10 minutes. Transfer to a wire rack and let cool slightly.

To make the filling, in a small bowl, whisk the eggs until blended; set aside. In a large bowl, combine cream cheese, sugar, vanilla, and cinnamon. Using a mixer on medium speed, beat until well blended, about one minute, scraping down bowl occasionally with a rubber spatula. Add the flour and beat just until incorporated, about 1 minute. Add half the beaten eggs and beat just until fully blended. Add the sour cream and beat just until incorporated, about 30 seconds. Using a large spoon, gently stir in the blueberries. Pour the filling into the crust. Bake until the filling looks set and does not wobble when the pan is shaken, about 40 – 45 minutes. Transfer to a wire rack and let cool until the top is room temp, about 1 hour. Cover the pan with plastic wrap and refrigerate for at least 4 hours.

Holding the ends of the foil, lift the bars onto a cutting surface. Use a warmed knife to cut the bar into 48 pieces. Store the bars in an airtight container in the fridge for up to 3 days.

slices3

One response to “Blueberry Cheesecake Bars

  1. Jeffrey loves cheesecake. And his pants don’t fit. heehee. These look delish!

Leave a Reply

